BBL 2023, live cricket scores, table, finals explained, fixtures, dates, Big Bash League, Sydney Thunder vs Melbourne Stars


The finals for BBL|12 have been played with the five remaining teams after two thrillers that closed the regular season on Wednesday-evening.

The sixth-placed Sydney Thunder beat the Melbourne Stars in the MCG to make it to the final – despite nearly letting it slip in the chase – after a dramatic result earlier in the day.

Brisbane Heat looked set for a victory over the Hobart Hurricanes that would have eliminated the latter, until a late capitulation changed everything.

Watch BBL12. Every game live and ad-free while playing on Kayo. New to Kayo? Start your free trial now >

The Heat needed 19 runs off 24 balls with six wickets in hand and somehow lost by two runs to see the Hurricanes climb to fifth place.

However, a Thunder victory saw the Hurricanes knocked out of the finals once again, as the Western Sydney side moved into fourth place behind the Melbourne Renegades.


‘LOST THE UNLOSABLE’: Cricket shock as Heat implodes in ‘biggest choke in BBL history’

LIVE BBL: Thunder face Stars in must-win MCG clash as finals chase hits the rails

Hurricanes v Heat Match Highlights | 03:54

The Heat lost a home final, but still had a remarkable run to the final despite Wednesday’s implosion. After winning only two of their first nine games, they won four in a row to make it to the postseason.

Conversely, the Adelaide Strikers started the season with three straight wins, then managed just two more in their next 11 games, including five consecutive losses to close out the regular season.

Elsewhere, things were tightly led with only two points separating the third-placed Thunder and the Hurricanes in sixth.

Rare rule causes ‘absolute chaos’ in BBL | 01:39

The outliers this season have been the Scorchers and Sixers – who are head and shoulders favorites to win the title – while the Melbourne Stars were bottom by six points.

The finals series, which begins with The Eliminator on Friday, consists of five games, culminating in the final on February 4.

The final is organized by the Perth Scorchers or Sydney Sixers, who will compete for honors at The Qualifer on Saturday.

The three other teams that reach the final will not get a second chance and will fight to stay alive.


Friday January 27, The Eliminator: Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat

Saturday, January 28, qualifying: Perth Scorchers vs Sydney Sixers

Sunday, January 29, The Knockout: Melbourne Renegades vs winner of the Eliminator

Thursday, February 2, The Challenger: Loser of The Qualifier vs Winner of The Knockout

Saturday, February 4, The Final: Winner of The Qualifier vs winner of The Challenger

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.